PDA

View Full Version : rear radio remote



badasshybrid
02-04-2010, 10:30 PM
Does anyone on here have pics of where their rear remote for the radio is?? I am going to insall one on my outback and not sure where to put it yet. Also what would the best way to cut it out without damaging anything??

Thanks

sandm
02-05-2010, 08:04 AM
if you get the kenwood units, you only need to drill 3 holes, one for wiring and 2 for the mounting rods that go thru the hull, that's if you want to surface mount it. flush would require much more cutting than i would be prepared to do, and it's permanent. if you switch to a different brand in the future, might not fit and now you're stuck with a huge hole..

where to mount it is all personal preference.
here's a not so great shot of the one on the back of mine...

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e194/sandm01/boat%20upgrades/PC190001.jpg

newty
02-05-2010, 08:21 AM
Thread hijack. Sandm how do you like that remote? How does it work with an ipod? Can you search playlists, artist etc with it?
Hijack over.
As you were.

badasshybrid
02-05-2010, 09:37 AM
Thanks,

This is the one I am going with. It requires a 3" hole to be installed.


http://www.clarion.com/us/en/MungoBlobs/702/453/CMRC1-BSS.jpg

Razzman
02-05-2010, 11:52 AM
Here's how i did mine. I didn't want it down on the vertical face of the transom as i wasn't worried about accessing from the water, but be able to easily reach it when sitting on the sun pad.

Picture 1 shows it from a front/side view, notice i had to make a spacing block from plastic cutting board. I contoured the bottom of the block to match the hull curve. I did this so it had a flat surface to sit on and would completely seal. Pic 2 shows it from the side where you can see the contour. Sorry for the slight blur and brightness!

sandm
02-05-2010, 12:34 PM
Thread hijack. Sandm how do you like that remote? How does it work with an ipod? Can you search playlists, artist etc with it?
Hijack over.
As you were.

I'll post some pics in the stereo thread I installed of the deck and a quick review of it.. did it a while ago, but it was one of the weekends the site crashed and it deleted what I did post..

ok...
back on topic.

I'd have a real hard time cutting a 3" hole in the boat for a remote. that's permanent and really limits your options in the future. no chance for a surface mount?

newty
02-07-2010, 12:14 AM
Razz, Nice install! That looks really clean. I really like the spacer.

Razzman
02-07-2010, 08:56 AM
Razz, Nice install! That looks really clean. I really like the spacer.

Thanks! Let me tell ya that was a pain in the rear to make!

04OUTBACK
02-07-2010, 10:46 AM
here is mine. i put it above the rub rail to make sure it did not get too wet
http://moomba.com/msgboard/showthread.php?t=5802&page=2

badasshybrid
02-07-2010, 04:58 PM
Here a pic of the back of mine right now. With the way its curved in the rear I am kinda limited to space. I think it would be a tight fit between the tow hooks and rub rail, so I was thinking about putting it in the sale location as the gas cap just on the opposite side. I was also looking at the space right about the black vent and grab handle. I want it in a spot that is easy to get to no matter where I am at. I am not really worried about the hole itself, just dont want it in a bad spot. I am very close to just taking it to someone who can install it and letting them do it. I was also under the impression that if you have the newer Clarion radios that you have to use their remote with it.

Thanks for the pics !! Keep them coming.

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e261/bullytank/Moomba/DSC06804.jpg

brain_rinse
02-08-2010, 05:18 PM
Thanks,

This is the one I am going with. It requires a 3" hole to be installed.


That remote is intended to be flush mounted, not surface mounted. You'd want something like that in your dash panel, but not at the transom. I doubt you'd even be able to find a spot flat enough to get a good seal without gooping in a bunch of silicone. You can get a nearly identical remote that is intended to be surface mounted that would allow you to only drill a very small hole for the wire to pass thru.

newty
02-08-2010, 09:21 PM
I had that same clarion remote on the transom of my old boat. As long as you have a relatively flat spot you'll be fine. It did take me a few bottles of liquid courage before I got the drill and holesaw out.
I loved it though. I'll eventually do it on my LSV.

brain_rinse
02-08-2010, 09:27 PM
I had that same clarion remote on the transom of my old boat. As long as you have a relatively flat spot you'll be fine. It did take me a few bottles of liquid courage before I got the drill and holesaw out.
I loved it though. I'll eventually do it on my LSV.
Oh man, I could never do it. No doubt a flush mount looks nice, but I think I'd pass out long before I built up enough courage to pull it off.

newty
02-08-2010, 09:32 PM
LOL! thats a lot of liquid courage!:p

badasshybrid
02-09-2010, 02:19 PM
LOL! thats a lot of liquid courage!:p

Its nothing but a 3" hole. If your scared say scared:mrgreen:

sandm
02-10-2010, 10:19 AM
I have to say that I would have no issues cutting a 3" hole in the boat, as I just finished ripping out tons of fiberglas removing the oem sub box, but the issue with me is that you are now stuck with that brand of remote, and potentially that same style. kenwood makes 3 different styles of transom remotes. you flushmount the one you have and what do you do when they stop making that style and yours breaks?

badasshybrid
02-12-2010, 06:15 PM
I have to say that I would have no issues cutting a 3" hole in the boat, as I just finished ripping out tons of fiberglas removing the oem sub box, but the issue with me is that you are now stuck with that brand of remote, and potentially that same style. kenwood makes 3 different styles of transom remotes. you flushmount the one you have and what do you do when they stop making that style and yours breaks?

Well, that brand of remote is the only remote that works my Clarion radio. I cannot put a Kenwood remote on a Clarion radio. If it brakes thats ok because I bought a spare off of ebay just in case that happened.

kennedy
05-11-2010, 12:10 PM
Here is a NEW Clarion Remote i just installed in the Moomba.

We also installed another one at the rear of the boat.

Awsome look and you have unlimited things you can control with the remote.

cab13367
05-11-2010, 02:51 PM
here is mine. i put it above the rub rail to make sure it did not get too wet
http://moomba.com/msgboard/showthread.php?t=5802&page=2

I did the same so that I can easily access it while sitting/laying on the sunpad as well as from the water.

mmandley
05-11-2010, 09:10 PM
Here is a NEW Clarion Remote i just installed in the Moomba.

We also installed another one at the rear of the boat.

Awsome look and you have unlimited things you can control with the remote.

Thats a nice looking setup man. I like the way the wake gauge is right above it and then the bass volume is also there. Sweet looking install man.

morgan040
05-12-2010, 11:28 AM
Here are my Alpine Remotes

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00058-20100510-1529.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00055-20100509-1737.jpg

jester
05-19-2010, 04:45 PM
Here are my Alpine Remotes



How do you like the setup? I was looking at these remotes but i will have to upgrade my deck to the marine deck and that is $$$.

morgan040
05-19-2010, 08:03 PM
I like them alot!! I wish the driver side one was tilted up a little more just so I could read the screen easier and the volume button is a little touchy at first. Once I got used to it its no big deal just odd for new people who touch it. I love the integration for ipod use and song titles from Sirius Radio, CD, and Ipod. I would definatly purchace again. I might even buy another for the bow of the boat :)