PDA

View Full Version : I had to redo most of the stereo



morgan040
05-12-2010, 12:37 PM
I didnt like how my amps were mounted. There were already under the passenger seat when I bought the boat so I added more amps then I got scared they would get wet.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00013-20100409-1431.jpg

So I listed to everyone on the board and moved them to a rack and behind the wall.....Then decided to add A new deck, sirius radio, and 2 remotes.

hard to get this thing back there!!!!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00029-20100419-1509.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00034-20100430-1948.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00054-20100509-1736.jpg

morgan040
05-12-2010, 12:39 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00056-20100509-1754.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00055-20100509-1737.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v383/morgan040/IMG00058-20100510-1529.jpg

newty
05-12-2010, 12:42 PM
Wow Nice work getting that amp rack back there! Thats a tight sob in there.
Looks good! How do you like the Alpine stuff so far?

morgan040
05-12-2010, 12:51 PM
I love it. That deck is perfect, I would recommend it to anyone. The volume button on the remotes are a little sensitive, but just something to get used to. That kenwood remote wouldn't work half of the time so its way nicer than that stock garbage.

sandm
05-12-2010, 01:42 PM
looks good and MUCH better than where it was. that should extend the life of the amps greatly :)

2007 Outback V
05-12-2010, 03:40 PM
Well done! Not an easy task, I just put my amps there as well. Looks very nice.

viking
05-12-2010, 04:35 PM
Nice job. Anybody that hasn't done audio work/upgrades on a boat have no idea how much work a simple relocate project is. Or just adding a battery or amp. Looks good and enjoy!

jmvotto
05-12-2010, 05:14 PM
Viking, you not kidding. the boat is in the drive way with wires all over the place and all it has done is rain.. temped to lower the tower to get half the boat in the garage. My wife thought it should take " a couple hours":confused:

mmandley
05-12-2010, 08:05 PM
Morgan040 Looks awesome man. I am working on a boat very simular to that. Its an 06 Ouback Mobius LSV.

I just installed a pair of Exile XM7s on the tower. Had to wire it all.
3 Exile amps on a custom amp rack.
adding a second battery and perko switch. Lastly swapping the 6 cabins out for new speakers.

I got all the amps and tower stuff done. Just waiting on the battery perko and a power distro block.

Ill post some pics when its done.

jmvotto
05-12-2010, 11:25 PM
Morgan nice set up. did you pre wire the board before you mounted it. Glad you took a pic of that alpine amp, its gonna be tough to see again. also did you tune it before th final mount.

morgan040
05-13-2010, 11:37 AM
Morgan nice set up. did you pre wire the board before you mounted it. Glad you took a pic of that alpine amp, its gonna be tough to see again. also did you tune it before th final mount.

I wired it when the amp rack was half way in, and finished it after I moved the rack all the back.

The tuning was def done prior to the install, although I can still reach the knobs on that alpine from under the passenger seat. I am still having issues with that amp and the gain levels. They are only up to about 10 % any higher, OR if I turn the deck volume to 100% the amp goes into protect mode. I cant seem to figure out why??? Ive been doing stereo installs for years and years. Its not like Im that green to it but I cant seem to figure this out. Ive been doing some reading online and it seems lots of people are having this same issue with that amp (pdx 4.100) so who knows???

dapjeff
05-13-2010, 12:56 PM
I had the same issue with my pdx 4.100m and 1.600m amps. Between the floor noise and not being truly two ohm stable I gave up on them. If I only showed the amp a 4 ohm load they wouldn't go into protection mode. Any less and protection mode in less than 3 minutes every time:(

morgan040
05-13-2010, 01:32 PM
I had the same issue with my pdx 4.100m and 1.600m amps. Between the floor noise and not being truly two ohm stable I gave up on them. If I only showed the amp a 4 ohm load they wouldn't go into protection mode. Any less and protection mode in less than 3 minutes every time:(

WOW it specifically says it is 2 ohm stable at 200x2. That obviously is not the case!! I guess its time to find a new amp and sell this guy!! what a pain to pull everything and do it again :mad:

BRANDNIRON8971
05-14-2010, 12:14 AM
Don't like to hear that. I have the 1.600, but havnt had everything hooked up yet...hopefully this weekend.