PDA

View Full Version : Amp location?



Eric Z
06-02-2010, 01:34 PM
I am putting in a second amp in my 06' LSV I have one under the glovebox area that faces towards the opening against the back wall above the battery. I was thinking about putting the other one against the left side facing in where there seems to be a little bump. I am not sure what is behing it. Is it a vent area looks like tubes coming out of the top of it. Could I drill into that or not? Any thoughts on where to mount another amp?

viking
06-02-2010, 01:38 PM
Are you talking about something like this??
Your other option is to build an amp rack and put it on either side of the hump. But I took the easy way and did what your thinking :)

Eric Z
06-02-2010, 01:48 PM
Yeah just like that. I like how you have them both on that spot I may move my other one and stack them also. No problems putting it in that spot?

cab13367
06-02-2010, 03:45 PM
Eric,

No problem mounting it there. That is an air plenum. Fresh air enters the vent that is in front of and at the base of the windshield, thru the black hose, into that air plenum, then on to the engine compartment.

I have the same boat as you and elected to mount my amps on an amp board mounted in front of the air plenum (pic below).

Al

http://i250.photobucket.com/albums/gg276/cab13367/Boat%20Pics/IMG_5780.jpg

ian ashton
06-02-2010, 04:53 PM
Cab; thats an incredibly clean instalation, very nice! Did you do it yourself, or have a shop do it?

viking
06-02-2010, 05:35 PM
Eric - no probs as cab says.
You do however have to have an amp(s) that has a small footprint to fit. My ouback has less room to work with than the bigger moomba versions I think so you could probably fit a wider amp?

cab13367
06-02-2010, 08:49 PM
Cab; thats an incredibly clean instalation, very nice! Did you do it yourself, or have a shop do it?

Thanks Ian. I did the install myself, my first real stereo install actually. In the pic above, I had not finished wiring the amps so it looks cleaner than it actually is. Below are pics of the finished install. One of my goals was to minimize the amount of lost usable storage space so that's why I installed everything as far forward as possible.

http://i250.photobucket.com/albums/gg276/cab13367/IMG_6511.jpg
http://i250.photobucket.com/albums/gg276/cab13367/IMG_6507.jpg
http://i250.photobucket.com/albums/gg276/cab13367/IMG_6512.jpg

adsman
06-02-2010, 09:18 PM
What about the right hand wall in the same port compartment? I thought I've seen some installs there? It appears thick enough to screw into without having to install a Amp rack/board

cab13367
06-02-2010, 09:23 PM
What about the right hand wall in the same port compartment? I thought I've seen some installs there? It appears thick enough to screw into without having to install a Amp rack/board

Yup, that would work too. That's where I used to have one amp mounted before I decided to move everything forward.

Eric Z
06-03-2010, 11:45 AM
I got my new amp installed on the vent area. Looks good and I have my other amp up on the front wall in that compartment.

Eric Z
06-03-2010, 01:21 PM
I am looking forward to hear my system in the next few days. I now have my MTX 8302 running my tower speakers. Those sound great. I was running my two subs and my tower speakers off of one 450x4 Fosgate amp. I will now run my Premier 10"sub in a tube bridged off of one side of the Fosgate ( under pasenger compartment).Then my Kicker 10" in the kick panel and my Kicker 8" in a tube on the other side of that amp. I will try to post some pics when it is done. I have also been having issues with my sound cutting out at high volume. I thought it might be that my Fosgate was under to much of a load. The new amp ran the tower speakers great with no cutting out. I will also check the old amp ground wire to see if that was the problem....Thanks again for all your input.

jmvotto
06-03-2010, 01:26 PM
Eric, pics, pics what boat do you have.

cab, as always nice work.

Eric Z
06-03-2010, 02:37 PM
Love my boat, now the thing is going to rock....