PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Amplifier



lewisb13
10-10-2010, 02:26 PM
Looking for either a monoblock or a 2 channel that can be bridged. Im looking for something that can deliver 300ish-400ish Watts RMS at 4OHM to a single voice coil sub. What do you guys have laying around? Cheers.

Razzman
10-11-2010, 12:42 PM
Lewis take a look at this, a new 2010 Kicker ZX400.1 mono class D for $165 shipped.

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-KICKER-10ZX400-1-400W-MONO-AMPLIFIER-zx4001-zx400-1-/290485935474?pt=Car_Amplifiers&hash=item43a24f9d72

lewisb13
10-11-2010, 12:45 PM
Thats an awesome deal! Thanks Razzman! Exactly what I was looking for in my price range too.

cab13367
10-11-2010, 03:37 PM
That's 400Wx1 @ 2ohms. I believe you are looking for 300-400W @ 4 ohms since you have a single voice coil 4 ohm sub. This amp only puts out 200W @ 4 ohms.

lewisb13
10-11-2010, 03:40 PM
True story......it seems all the amps that deliver good 4 ohm power are $$$$. This may work, going to do a little more research.

cab13367
10-11-2010, 03:51 PM
True story......it seems all the amps that deliver good 4 ohm power are $$$$. This may work, going to do a little more research.

Yeah, it's cheaper to get a dual voice coil sub than getting a good amp that pushes 400W+ at 4 ohms.

lewisb13
10-11-2010, 04:20 PM
Hows the sound quality going in each direction?

brain_rinse
10-11-2010, 04:29 PM
If you like your sub an easy solution would be to go with a 2 channel amp. When you bridge the 2 channels to the single 4 ohm sub the amp will "see" 2 ohms. Lots of good, inexpensive 2 channel amps out there that can push 400W @ 2 ohms.

lewisb13
10-11-2010, 04:32 PM
If you like your sub an easy solution would be to go with a 2 channel amp. When you bridge the 2 channels to the single 4 ohm sub the amp will "see" 2 ohms. Lots of good, inexpensive 2 channel amps out there that can push 400W @ 2 ohms.

Any suggestions?

cab13367
10-11-2010, 08:27 PM
If you like your sub an easy solution would be to go with a 2 channel amp. When you bridge the 2 channels to the single 4 ohm sub the amp will "see" 2 ohms. Lots of good, inexpensive 2 channel amps out there that can push 400W @ 2 ohms.

Actually, not quite true. When you bridge a two channel amp into mono, it will usually about double the output but will do so into 4 ohms. Most amps are not rated to operate bridged at 2 ohms.

But you are right - a good option for the OP, if he wants to stay with his SVC 4 ohm sub, is to find a high output two channel amp that will do 400W+ when bridged.

brain_rinse
10-11-2010, 10:52 PM
Al, the amp specs will typically still state bridged RMS power output in 4 ohm terms. But the amp "sees" a 2 ohm load in a bridged configuration. The specs don't state 2 ohm stable because if you put a 2 ohm sub on a bridged 2 channel amp, the amp now sees 1 ohm and most would not be stable at that resistance.

lewisb13, here's a winner: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=390248079442

Razzman
10-12-2010, 12:43 AM
Sorry about that Lewis i didn't pay attention to detail! Here's a JL Audio amp that runs 360w bridged at 4ohms for $140, not a bad deal at all.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/JL-AUDIO-J2-360-2-2-Ch-360W-Car-Audio-Amplifier-NEW-Amp-_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQhashZitem20b3ecf78eQQitemZ14045 7605006QQptZCarQ5fAudioQ5fVideo

cab13367
10-12-2010, 02:37 AM
Al, the amp specs will typically still state bridged RMS power output in 4 ohm terms. But the amp "sees" a 2 ohm load in a bridged configuration. The specs don't state 2 ohm stable because if you put a 2 ohm sub on a bridged 2 channel amp, the amp now sees 1 ohm and most would not be stable at that resistance.

Sorry Brian, that is simply not true. What load the amp sees is purely a function of what is hooked up to it, not whether it's wired in stereo or in bridged mode. The additional power comes from combining (or bridging) two channels into one, not because the amp is seeing half the load.

The link below explains it pretty well:

http://www.caraudioforum.com/showthread.php?t=97288

brain_rinse
10-12-2010, 09:42 AM
Sorry Brian, that is simply not true. What load the amp sees is purely a function of what is hooked up to it, not whether it's wired in stereo or in bridged mode. The additional power comes from combining (or bridging) two channels into one, not because the amp is seeing half the load.

The link below explains it pretty well:

http://www.caraudioforum.com/showthread.php?t=97288
Al, you're exactly right and that link breaks it all down well. The "seeing" (and I put it in quotes for a reason) is just an over simplified rule of thumb because most (not you) aren't going to dive into the details, especially in a classified ad :) My intent was to point out as simply as possible that the same current flows when the amp is bridged on a 4 ohm load or a 2 ohm stereo load. So in lewisb13's case he can get plenty of power to his single 4 ohm sub by buying a 2 channel amp and bridging it. I promise not to use the "seeing" description ever again!

cab13367
10-12-2010, 06:14 PM
Al, you're exactly right and that link breaks it all down well. The "seeing" (and I put it in quotes for a reason) is just an over simplified rule of thumb because most (not you) aren't going to dive into the details, especially in a classified ad :) My intent was to point out as simply as possible that the same current flows when the amp is bridged on a 4 ohm load or a 2 ohm stereo load. So in lewisb13's case he can get plenty of power to his single 4 ohm sub by buying a 2 channel amp and bridging it. I promise not to use the "seeing" description ever again!

Dan,

It's all good. Yes, I am a stickler for details but more importantly, I wanted to make we weren't steering the OP in the wrong direction by providing him inaccurate information.

Al