PDA

View Full Version : Adding battery switch



moombadaze
02-21-2011, 07:23 AM
Picked up a battery switch so I can add a second battery. Question is the poitive cable going from the battery to the starter is friggin huge and has a cable end on it for a top post battery. The battery switch needs a roundeye end. The cable only has a about a 12" of slack and all I have are common hand tools. The second battery is mainly for the stereo and not so much for starting. How do I then add a roundeye to hook it to the swith or can I just leave the factory cable attached to the battery and run a second cable to the battery switch so that I can turn the switch on and charge the 2nd battery while the motor is running, or help start if needed. I just dont know how I can modify the factory positive battery cable with the tools I have.

Oh--I did pick up a Prosports battery charger/conditoner to make sure both battery are fully charged when I leave the house


Any advise.

Thanks

jmvotto
02-21-2011, 09:40 AM
Daze, your gonna have to lop it off and add a ring terminal and go straight to the switch with it. Here is a set screw type for those with "common" tools.

http://www.halfpricecaraudio.com/Stinger-SHT20-Chrome-1-0-Gauge-to-5-16-Ring-Terminal.htm

Autozone may have some of these terminals as well.

kaneboats
02-21-2011, 10:03 AM
Stacy, I just did this over the weekend. I twisted the old one right off then added a set screw type connector on the end. I found it in the electrical section at Home Depot for about 4 bucks. I just sent a pic of it to your phone.

You'll have to connect that cable and all the other stuff on your positive terminal to the center terminal on the switch. Then run new battery cables from the positives on batteries 1 and 2 to the terminals 1 and 2. With the negatives you can just leave as it and run a cable between the two negative terminals on the two batteries.

moombadaze
02-21-2011, 12:05 PM
Thanks for the replies.

Pat-you litterally just twisted the cable end off??-been eating spinach?

I allready bought the extra 2 + cables and 1 - cable to make it all work--had not opened the battery case cover in a year or so and forgot about that cable end.

kaneboats
02-22-2011, 10:20 AM
Just sent you an e-mail with all the details.

kaneboats
02-22-2011, 03:42 PM
I found a page on the Home Depot site that has the connector I used on the end of the existing battery cable. Works great!

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100183915/h_d2/ProductDisplay?storeId=10051&keyword=783786372522&jspStoreDir=hdus&Nu=P_PARENT_ID&navFlow=3&catalogId=10053&langId=-1&ddkey=Search