PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have experience with the Kenwood KMR-440U?



ian ashton
03-13-2011, 10:46 PM
I was thinking I wanted to go with Alpine, but I can save a ton of $ with the 440U, and still use the same rear remote I have installed already.

Any opinions on this unit? I'll be upgrading from the Kenwood 232

harmsway
03-13-2011, 11:05 PM
I replaced the stock Kenwood with the KMR440U over the winter and I am very pleased with it so far. I couldn't stand not having a USB port. In my opinion it sounds much better, but that may because I spent money. I also added the digital driver side remote (highly recommend) it controls every aspect of the system. If you use the factory remote you will have to wire it into the steering wheel control wire supplied with the KMR440U. Also the cage that the HU sits in the dash is sliightly shorter with the factory HU, so you will have to replace it with the one that is supplied with the KU.
Here is A link with some pics of the install I did.

http://www.moomba.com/msgboard/album.php?albumid=397

cab13367
03-14-2011, 12:48 AM
I was thinking I wanted to go with Alpine, but I can save a ton of $ with the 440U, and still use the same rear remote I have installed already.

Any opinions on this unit? I'll be upgrading from the Kenwood 232

Ian,

That unit only has 2.5V preouts. I would personally go with the Kenwood eXcelon KDC-X494 as it has 4V preouts.

Here's a link:

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_23364_Kenwood-Marine-KMR-440U.html

sandm
03-14-2011, 09:42 AM
I'd stay away from 2.5volt preouts if you can..

jmvotto
03-14-2011, 09:52 AM
Unless you have an eq(ws 420 or a line driver)

EarmarkMarine
03-14-2011, 10:35 AM
Zero issues with the 440Us we've installed thus far.
The Excelons do really pack on the features and have great line voltage...but, you lose the ability to add a 'display' remote where as the 440u does both.

David
Earmark Marine

ian ashton
03-14-2011, 04:32 PM
I have the Kicker Remote Zone Control, which I believe increases line level voltage...

cab13367
03-14-2011, 04:52 PM
I have the Kicker Remote Zone Control, which I believe increases line level voltage...

Understood, but the higher the preout voltage, the cleaner the signal the amp sees whether it's amplified by a line driver or not. But maybe it's a negligible difference. I'm sure David can offer some insight.

lewisb13
03-14-2011, 06:23 PM
http://www.lafayetteradio.com/html/details.asp?search=1873


This is the head unit from the other thread I made. It has all the features of the 440 AND it has a wireless remote. It has 3 4.0V preouts too. Its also cheaper.

EarmarkMarine
03-14-2011, 08:00 PM
The source unit voltage isn't going to be a concern if you are using line drivers in any form. You're looking at a major gain multiplication from source to amplifier which is very different than the relationship between source unit and line driver.

David
Earmark Marine