PDA

View Full Version : Factory moomba stereo



hyperlite26
02-07-2005, 05:47 PM
The factory stereo was stolen out of my moomba and all i really know is that it was a kenwood deck. The wired remote is still in place so i was needing to find out which model i need that will work with the factory kenwood deck and wired remote. Also any recomendations on 6.5 marine speakers. i have alpine all the way around now and was looking to upgrade.

clark
02-07-2005, 07:43 PM
How does that stock stereo sound including the 6 standard speakers? I pick up my new boat in 3 weeks.

Clark

smokedog2
02-07-2005, 09:25 PM
This was posted under sales & info by Budafuco (whatever)

sd,
.
As you know, I had problems with the factory radio. I went on ebay and found the direct replacement for the stock Kenwood KDC-225MR (the 'MR' is supposed to stand for 'Marine Radio' what a frikin joke, it got damp and fried the p.s.) because I have that remote station by the dash and i wanted to continue using it, so, i went with Kenwood's KDC-MP225 (a $300 unit, on ebay for $118).
It basically has the same spec's as the 225MR, but is Mp3 compatible.

As far as juice usage goes, the louder you play it, the more the batt discharges (i have a knack for the obvious, don't I?). I put an amp in mine just for good clarity at boarding speeds. And partied at the sand bar for 6-8 hours straight without concern.

I know about the fish food thing, I lost 2 cell phones last year, alone.

Jim
Hickory, North Carolina

Buttafewcoe
02-08-2005, 05:29 AM
Er....that's 'Buttafewcoe'......I'm post to get me radio today or tomorrow, but will still be a couple weeks before i install it. Wouldn't want it to get wet now, would I?.......Doesn't old boy got insurance to replace the stolen one?
.
He can try West Marine (they had one in Charlotte, NC for $230) or Boater's World if he has one of those in his area). The Marina where I bought my Moomba wanted $280. If the insurance will pay, he might try one of those

Will Watters
02-08-2005, 03:49 PM
Anyone know if the 05 factory installed CD player has an aux input for a MP3 player??

Buttafewcoe
02-09-2005, 12:53 PM
Not sure...........there are 2 RCA jacks in the back of it for an external CD changer........I don't see why you couldn't plug a Mp3 player into it

Will Watters
02-09-2005, 02:51 PM
Great, thanks for the reply. I was hoping something like that was available. I can get a headphone jack to RCA plug adapter and should be good to go. 1500 songs on my small Zen Nomad and plenty of space to add more. Will make CDs obsolete!!