PDA

View Full Version : ballast wiring help for ibs?



jmvotto
08-22-2011, 09:53 PM
ok the ibs is in and i added a dual rule fill pumps to my intakes. boat came with the stock g1 and i added the the giii and used the gi wiring for the ibs. i wired the giii fill line together with gi so any switch independently could fill any of the bags. any of the giii rockers light up the gi switch when pushed therefore opening the valve. not sure if gi has a relay or not. any thoughts would be appreciated, my pics are lost in the archives.

mmandley
08-22-2011, 09:58 PM
Jm im missing your your question is bro? Are you having issues filling the IBS? How is the fill hose routed to the IBS?

jmvotto
08-22-2011, 10:33 PM
Mike, I have added a four port manifold with four valves. The ibs has it's on fill line and two drain pumps in the bow. When I switch any of the gIII factory plate with factory wiring harness,(which I added) to fill, the gI on the dash, (factory installed) lights up and opens the valve and fills the ibs, when the ibs switch = gI switch, has not been depressed. The only wiring which is crossed is the fill wiring which is below.

Hope this makes sense

Pics below
http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh254/jmvotto/IMAG0324.jpg

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh254/jmvotto/IMAG0142.jpg

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh254/jmvotto/IMAG0325.jpg

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh254/jmvotto/IMAG0324.jpg

jmvotto
08-22-2011, 10:53 PM
More pics

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh254/jmvotto/IMAG0174.jpg



http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh254/jmvotto/IMAG0171.jpg

Canuckle Head
08-22-2011, 11:24 PM
Hi Joe,

So, does the LED on the dash switch (IBS) light up when this happens?

jmvotto
08-22-2011, 11:31 PM
Yes the fill side of the led lights up when any of the three lower switches are pushed to fill. The empty function works perfect.

Canuckle Head
08-22-2011, 11:40 PM
And when you wired in the GIII switch was it a factory plug and play situation or did you splice it into the dash switch?

jmvotto
08-22-2011, 11:47 PM
Factory plug and play for both gIII and gI I did combine some deutch connectors to the dual fill pumps in order to activate them from either. This is the only cross contamination point I can think of in the blue tarp picture.

Canuckle Head
08-23-2011, 02:30 AM
Alright, but if its the wiring to the pump,it still doesn't explain why the sprinkler valve and the led is being activated does it? I'm thinking out loud here so bear with me. When you got the wiring schematic for the GIII did it replace the GI? How did you manage to keep the 4th switch? Got any pictures as to how you wired it into the dash?

jmvotto
08-23-2011, 09:43 AM
I left the 4th switch on the dash (GI) seperate , did not touch a thing there, then wired the factory harness (GIII) pre wired under the floor and to the fuse block supplied then to the bus under the helm.

so my issue was how do i get the wiring for the fill pumps to work from all 4 switches. hence the combination above of deutch plugs i wyed them together to power the dual fill pumps.



another thought IS?? could i have accidentanlly put the valve plug for g1 to the fill side and vica versa?? i may have to check that but i thought i checked it before.. would that light up the LED on the G1 switch while activateing the other three.

jmvotto
08-25-2011, 12:56 AM
Wade. Mike? Bueller?

Canuckle Head
08-25-2011, 01:48 AM
Sorry Joe, I am at a loss other than I think you're problem lies in how you have the switches wired to the fill pump. Is there any way to jump the GI switch from the dash into the GIII switch rather than trying to connect it at the pump? I had that same harness wiring as you but had to strip it completely and rewire for the Johnson pumps in 10 gage.

I seem to remember that the power and grounds were interconnected........ Or am I way off base here?

jmvotto
08-25-2011, 09:31 AM
maybe that might do the trick but not really sure how i would do that at the relay without getting the same result. Hmmm puzzled?

mmandley
08-25-2011, 09:16 PM
still working this one out, been a busy week sorry. I will try to draw this out tonight and see if i can come up with some ideas

jmvotto
08-26-2011, 11:15 PM
took the splicing harness out and connected. each fill to each pump gi to pump1 and giii to pump 2 no issues with the leds. now need to water test. wanted both pumps to run when any of the four fill switches were pressed.

08LSV
08-27-2011, 06:09 AM
wanted both pumps to run when any of the four fill switches were pressed.

I had sort of the same issue before. I started with GIII and wanted to add another Rule pump to the same intake and have both of them come on any time any of the switches were on fill. The wires connected to my original pump were marked at the pump connection and at the switch in tiny lettering on a white tab. I was just going to run new wire from the new pump and match with (tie into) the existing pump wiring at the switch, then just double the size of the pump fuse in the fuse block to handle the load of 2 pumps running. Not sure if it would have worked since I never finished that and started on Fman's Tsunami 800 upgrade (That didn't work like I wanted to either so I am going with the Johnson's now.). I am working on the boat tomorrow, do you want me to take pics or anything of the wiring on the back of my switches or fuse block since it is factory GIII?

jmvotto
08-27-2011, 09:42 AM
08lsv, thanks. I am just having a hard time figuring out why I am getting a electrical back feed to the gi switch, which open the valve. I guess it I wire them separately. I would theoretically have the same pump power. I pump for gi and one for the giii, when filling multiple bags it should work fine.

mmandley
08-27-2011, 07:40 PM
08lsv, thanks. I am just having a hard time figuring out why I am getting a electrical back feed to the gi switch, which open the valve. I guess it I wire them separately. I would theoretically have the same pump power. I pump for gi and one for the giii, when filling multiple bags it should work fine.

Ahh ok i think this clicked in my head now lol. So when you turn on the G3 the G1 switch activates also? Yes this is prolly due to if you split off the same power wire it will power both switches. You have to run a deddicated power to each switch bank. Or you might have the power on the wrong terminal on the ballast switch and its fedding it backwards. This would mean it still works but sends voltage down the daisey chain to the G1 again. Simple fix would be run a deddicated power line from the fuse panel. I think this is what you have been working on. Sorry Jm just havnt been able to get my mind to focus very well this week. Been hell all week mentaly.

jmvotto
08-27-2011, 11:53 PM
Mike, thanks for the input. But I am not sharing power between the gi and giii until I get to the pumps. I wonder if a I I need a relay on the gi prior to the splicing of the power to the fill pumps to stop the back feed of power.

FYI the water test failed both pumps have to be on to fill anything when connected on a tee. Can't have in pump for the one and one pump for the hiking if sharing same intake.

mmandley
08-28-2011, 01:51 AM
.

FYI the water test failed both pumps have to be on to fill anything when connected on a tee. Can't have in pump for the one and one pump for the hiking if sharing same intake.

Only way i have seen the same intake shared for multiple pumps its to T them off. That way when one pump comes on its pulling water to its side and vis versa.

jmvotto
08-28-2011, 08:41 AM
mike, i have them teed but they dont fill unless both are running when independently powered. this would be a short term fix but not sure why one pump would not work to fill. i fill the manifold from both end. could it do a 360 back to the tee through the second pump to negate any flow?

08LSV
08-29-2011, 01:36 AM
mike, i have them teed but they dont fill unless both are running when independently powered. this would be a short term fix but not sure why one pump would not work to fill. i fill the manifold from both end. could it do a 360 back to the tee through the second pump to negate any flow?

I know, I know I'm not Mike, but I had a similar issue when I first started with my 3 tsunami's on one intake. The pump that was running was pulling air through the other two pumps and hoses that were not running, I assumed it was just following the path of least resistance air being easier to pull than water. Kinda creating its own air lock. Luckily I could see this happening since I installed the see through tubing. To fix it I first had to run all three pumps at the same time to get water in all three pumps and tubing. Sorta priming the system for the first time. Enough water remained in all three pumps and tubes to keep it working. If I disconnected the tubing and drained the water from any of the others it would stall out again. And I would have to run them at the same time again to prime. I guess it's just and issue with aerator pumps.

jmvotto
08-29-2011, 09:32 AM
. To fix it I first had to run all three pumps at the same time to get water in all three pumps and tubing. Sorta priming the system for the first time. Enough water remained in all three pumps and tubes to keep it working. If I disconnected the tubing and drained the water from any of the others it would stall out again. And I would have to run them at the same time again to prime. I guess it's just and issue with aerator pumps.

Ok got the short term fix is to start both pumps, then turn off the one i dont want to fix. ok makes sense. i guess i really have to find out about the back feed loop i really want both pumps to work at the same time. the original plan.


Thanks for the response 08lsv ( aka not mike) LOL

jmvotto
08-30-2011, 05:24 PM
Props to SC staff, Anthony, Roger and especially Doug. Took my e-mails forwarded me some schematics and Doug ultimately walked me through my solution for about 15 to 20 minutes. Great bunch of people , responsive and knowledgable.

I will try the solution this weekend and see how it goes, but certainly makes sense.

mnpracing
08-30-2011, 07:06 PM
Props to SC staff, Anthony, Roger and especially Doug. Took my e-mails forwarded me some schematics and Doug ultimately walked me through my solution for about 15 to 20 minutes. Great bunch of people , responsive and knowledgable.

I will try the solution this weekend and see how it goes, but certainly makes sense.

and the solution was.....?

wolfeman131
08-30-2011, 07:09 PM
hope it all works out this time

jmvotto
08-30-2011, 08:42 PM
and the solution was.....?

Unplug the gi power at the fill pump and jump an Orange wire from the giii Orange (power) on any of the three switches , this should isolate the gi solenoid from the constant power source and run the fill pump power through giii harness for all four switches.

Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk

jmvotto
09-04-2011, 05:31 PM
Problem solved.... I had to jump the gI switch with power first to the fill spade, cuz the gI fill and solenoid signal is split near the v drive...