PDA

View Full Version : Where to buy 12 gauge speaker wire??



rdlangston13
09-13-2011, 05:52 PM
I am looking to increase the efficiency of my setup by replacing the 16 gauge speaker wire with a butt connector half way up the tower with 12 gauge speaker wire that is one piece until it gets to the speakers and then solder all the connections. Where is the best place to buy 12 gauge speaker wire???

dusty2221
09-13-2011, 06:02 PM
Monoprice.com You can get 2 conductor or 4 conductor with an outer coating for next to nothing.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/search.asp?spcDB=10239&spcWord=Speaker+Wires&keyword=speaker%20cable

/endthread

I am about to pull the 4-conductor I ran up my tower and replace with 6 conductor with the outer coating, Mono didn't have it so I had to go with this:

http://jacksmusicstore.com/catalog/cables/bulk/speaker/cbl-blk-skr-b~ss6

Had to do this since I am now running dual Harpoons for the tower. (well, about to be) :)

rdlangston13
09-13-2011, 06:14 PM
so that will give me two separate channels with one coated bundle?? and then once at the top i can split is up as needed?

dusty2221
09-13-2011, 06:21 PM
4 conductor will.

loudsubz
09-13-2011, 10:36 PM
how much power are you running that you will need 12 awg? My guess is you don't. 14/4 wire will be plenty for your needs.

kaneboats
09-14-2011, 11:24 AM
What gauge is the stock wiring? I'm about to add 2 more SXT's to my tower and am wondering if I should pull new wires.

dusty2221
09-14-2011, 11:32 AM
My stock was 16 at best, very small. Kane, I would order up a roll of that 4 conductor 12g, it's worth the piece of mind.

rdlangston13
09-14-2011, 12:31 PM
ill be running 500 watts thru each set of speaker wire so 1000 watts total

loudsubz
09-14-2011, 02:10 PM
Well 14 awg will provide up to 800 watts rms without any noticeable db loss so if you don't plan to go with anymore power than that 14 is more than adequate.

rdlangston13
09-14-2011, 06:50 PM
Well 14 awg will provide up to 800 watts rms without any noticeable db loss so if you don't plan to go with anymore power than that 14 is more than adequate.

if 14 is good then 12 is better! MUAHAHAHAH

loudsubz
09-14-2011, 07:38 PM
Thats the problem, there is no discernable difference its all trickery in the mind. Kind of like those Audiophile grade power cords and interconnects. :) Hey if you have the money to burn and feel it will make a difference who am I to tell you otherwise.

rdlangston13
09-16-2011, 11:22 PM
ok so i just checked out the one from jacks that you are getting dusty and i think i am going to go that route since the outside is black and will look better than white in the joint of the tower where it has to be exposed. it is 13 gauge instead of 12 tho

rdlangston13
09-16-2011, 11:24 PM
how much are you buying dusty?

dusty2221
09-18-2011, 05:54 PM
Ive got 35 foot of the 6 conductor due to the design of my racks amd how it has to run.. My guess is 25 will do the trick, but wanted to be safe

Also. You only need 4 conductor, not the 6 jacks sells. Fwiw, monoprice is the best route, just cover the wire with some loom. Mono sends rolled wire within a week of ordsr. I waites 3 weeks nearly for my order from jacks. They cut to order

rdlangston13
09-18-2011, 07:46 PM
yeah, jacks had black 4 conductor. ill probably just electical tape the part that is exposed to make it black. i guess ill order tomorrow

loudsubz
09-19-2011, 10:41 PM
Add some tech flex to the wire to make it look spiffy :) I add it instead of the plastic wire loom

rdlangston13
09-20-2011, 09:25 AM
Add some tech flex to the wire to make it look spiffy :) I add it instead of the plastic wire loom

what is this tech flex you speak of?

dusty2221
09-20-2011, 10:24 AM
Stuff like this

http://www.drillspot.com/products/460044/Techflex_CCP125BK_Techflex-TM-_Sleeving?s=1

wolfeman131
09-21-2011, 04:23 PM
That is great looking stuff Dusty. Much better than the black plastic stuff I would have thought of. Couple of questions for you: how do you cut to length? How do you stop the ends from fraying? How do you finish the cut ends? Does it rust?

loudsubz
09-22-2011, 12:00 AM
That is great looking stuff Dusty. Much better than the black plastic stuff I would have thought of. Couple of questions for you: how do you cut to length? How do you stop the ends from fraying? How do you finish the cut ends? Does it rust?

Just cut it to length as you would with any other loom. Just make note that its complete all the way around and will not slide over the wire when done like normal loom so you have to plan ahead before you make your final connections. I use Heat shrink or tape on my ends. Works fine and doesn't unravel. Makes a real professional look vs normal plastic loom. I bought about 50 feet of it on ebay 2 summers ago and use it all the time. Its super stretchy so it fits a variety of sized bundles. Its a nylon so it doesn't rust.

wolfeman131
09-22-2011, 12:05 AM
Thx for the extra info. I was looking at it before on my phone and it sure looked like a braided metal. Cool stuff.