PDA

View Full Version : Head Unit and Remote Options



ChrisK
11-15-2011, 02:48 PM
I'm fairly clueless when it comes to audio stuff. I'm looking to add a transom remote to my baby but that means I need to purchase a new head unit as well. Anyone know of a good cheap option? I'm really not looking to spend a whole lot and go over the top, just need it functional.

kaneboats
11-15-2011, 04:36 PM
Where the heck is Al? Didn't he research all this stuff not long ago?

Jet
11-15-2011, 04:55 PM
Chris. I think you can bypass the head unit and buy a Krypt-4200 ($117-$249) or WS400 (way more) eq and pipe in your internet phone or ipod through it, AND it will make your stereo sound better too! but then Im not sure you can add a transom remote to that??

EarmarkMarine
11-15-2011, 05:21 PM
First off, with a forum discount and if you have the right contacts, I am fairly sure that you can get the Wetsounds EQ for $249 and the Wetsounds has a few distinct advantages. The two may look similar but are far from identical. Neither will work with a remote control.
A brand new Kenwood FM/AM/CD marine unit with a transom remote and cabling is less than $200 total.

David
Earmark Marine

ChrisK
11-15-2011, 06:50 PM
I already have the Krypt 4200, bought it simply for the PA function and volume control on my simple sound system.

David, are you saying that I can't use a remote at all with the 4200 or I can't use one with ONLY the 4200? Can I have the HU, remote, AND 4200?

bergermaister
11-15-2011, 06:55 PM
Pretty sure that basically if you want a remote -at the transom or elsewhere - you HAVE to run a head unit. No remote will control an EQ. At least not yet.

ChrisK
11-15-2011, 07:03 PM
Yeah I understand that, I just want to make sure that having the EQ AND head unit won't make a remote unusable. Basically, can you use all three?

EarmarkMarine
11-15-2011, 07:04 PM
ChrisK,
You can't use a marine transom remote control exclusively with an EQ as there is no interface option.
A marine transom remote control only integrates with the appropriate marine HU or a HU with a hardwired steering wheel remote control input.
No problem using a HU and a remote control in combination with an EQ.
In order for this to work the ipod/mp3 will have to access the HU rather than the EQ auxilary input.

David
Earmark Marine

ChrisK
11-15-2011, 07:13 PM
Ahh, so it won't work for me, as I use my EQ's aux for my ipod

KG's Supra24
11-15-2011, 09:24 PM
Does your head unit have a cd changer or aux port? Any option other than fm or cd?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

ChrisK
11-15-2011, 11:24 PM
no changer and no aux port, I believe... like I said, I'm clueless when it comes to this stuff. Here's my HU..

http://reviews.cnet.com/in-dash-car-stereos/alpine-cde-9873-radio/1707-6729_7-32333769.html