PDA

View Full Version : Krypt EQ $79



loudsubz
12-18-2011, 09:33 PM
Just got the email, good for 72 hours I think

Use coupon code: EQ Promo
http://www.bulletlines.com/Krypt-KMA-4200-Wakeboard-EQ-p/4555.htm
Sale price - $79.99

Stazi
12-18-2011, 09:57 PM
Sweet, I gabbed one - that's a geat price!

KG's Supra24
12-19-2011, 12:17 AM
That is a good price.

Fwiw, I used one last season and loved it.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

kaneboats
12-19-2011, 12:22 AM
Can somebody tell me more about how to set one of these up? Do you have to run RCA cables all the way across from the HU and back again?

cab13367
12-19-2011, 12:38 AM
Can somebody tell me more about how to set one of these up? Do you have to run RCA cables all the way across from the HU and back again?

Yup. One from the HU to the EQ then 3 from the EQ back to your amps (assuming you have 3 amps).

cab13367
12-19-2011, 11:29 AM
For this price, I am thinking about getting one now. The only reason I want one is for the microphone feature - being able to talk to the rider via the tower speakers would help for teaching newbies and would be just a fun thing to have.

Does the EQ add any background noise? That's my main concern. Seems like taking one preout signal then amplifying it and sending it to three different amps would be a recipe for background noise. Can anyone comment?

With my set up right now, I am using all three sets of 4V preouts from the HU, one going to each amp (and amplifying two of them with separate JL Audio line drivers) and it sounds very clean, i.e., no background noise during mellower songs or at lower volumes.

kaneboats
12-19-2011, 12:33 PM
Well, at that price you can test it out and get back out of it before the season without losing anything. That's why I ordered one.

sandm
12-19-2011, 12:37 PM
I considered this, but I have a volume control for the tower speakers and sub already and plan on adding another one for the in-boat speakers later this spring.
the kicker volume controls that run 2 zones look appealing.

bergermaister
12-19-2011, 12:51 PM
I'm in the "same boat" as you Al - HU outputs all direct to 3 amps. Not crazy about running cables over to the cockpit and back but for that price I could possibly be persuaded...

cab13367
12-19-2011, 12:52 PM
Well, at that price you can test it out and get back out of it before the season without losing anything. That's why I ordered one.

That's what I was thinking as well.

kaneboats
12-19-2011, 01:33 PM
I also checked the prices for av cables on monoprice.com and was encouraged. I almost ordered some today but decided to wait till after Christmas. I'm sure I'll order a few new cables, etc. after I figure out what else I need.

loudsubz
12-19-2011, 01:36 PM
I'm in the "same boat" as you Al - HU outputs all direct to 3 amps. Not crazy about running cables over to the cockpit and back but for that price I could possibly be persuaded...

I dont know about yours but on our 2010 LSV the cables go under the floor in the ski locker area and up to the amp, literally 1 min per cable run, super easy

kaneboats
12-19-2011, 01:41 PM
How long of cables did you need to order? The 10 or 12 foot premium ones look pretty reasonable here:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218#1021803

bbuhtz
12-19-2011, 01:46 PM
Does the EQ add any background noise? That's my main concern. Seems like taking one preout signal then amplifying it and sending it to three different amps would be a recipe for background noise. Can anyone comment?


I have one of these and I don't have any background noise. It shouldn't have any background noise if it's tuned right. If you crank it up, you will hear some hizzing, but the directions specifically say not to over power the outputs in the directions of tuning. IMO its a nice cheap investment, built a little on the cheap side, but the $79 its worth it. I've gotten my money's worth out of mine. The microphone option is nice and being able to quiet you towers or in-boats is nice too. My first unit fried for some odd reason but Krypt replaced it at no additional cost.

dusty2221
12-19-2011, 01:58 PM
I have one in my boat, and for $79 bucks I am halfway considering buying a backup for just in case! I absolutely love it. One of the most utilized pieces on my boat.

KG's Supra24
12-19-2011, 03:00 PM
I considered this, but I have a volume control for the tower speakers and sub already and plan on adding another one for the in-boat speakers later this spring.
the kicker volume controls that run 2 zones look appealing.

This unit controls all 3 zones in one package. Plus has a microphone.

Cab, I have heard some people say the EQ creates noise but always heard it was fixed by grounding directly to battery. I ran mine last year grounded at the posts under the drivers helm. I didn't have any noise issues.

I've been thrilled with the functionality of mine and for that price its a great mod.

cab13367
12-19-2011, 03:21 PM
Alright, you guys talked me into it. Just ordered one.

Kane, I am running those cables from monoprice and they work just fine. Not sure how long you will need but I suggest you make your own measurements rather than relying on someone else's data. How you route your cable and where the amps are located will make a difference.

New Guy
12-19-2011, 04:15 PM
I just picked one up for that price. My clarion eq was starting to give me problems due to moisture ect. For that price I couldn't pass it up.

bergermaister
12-19-2011, 04:17 PM
Ditto - ordered a couple hours ago. Bring on the spring time projects!

jmvotto
12-19-2011, 04:34 PM
Al, I thought you had the JL line drivers controlling the tower and in boats?

cab13367
12-19-2011, 07:19 PM
Al, I thought you had the JL line drivers controlling the tower and in boats?

I do, so if I decide to go with the Krypt EQ, I would no longer need them.

viking
12-19-2011, 08:03 PM
Wow - great price. Think they were $99 last sale?
I just grabbed one. Damn you guys :)

jmvotto
12-19-2011, 10:17 PM
Wow - great price. Think they were $99 last sale?
I just grabbed one. Damn you guys :)

Same here.

cab13367
12-20-2011, 03:04 AM
Same here.

I thought you already have the WS EQ??

jmvotto
12-20-2011, 09:05 AM
It's a great price.

jmvotto
12-20-2011, 10:33 PM
Those went fast. All gone early today. Price back to 219.00. looks like some moomba members jumped on it,

jmvotto
12-24-2011, 06:41 PM
Got mine today.. merry Christmas to me... Lol
Enjoy your Christmas everyone!

bergermaister
12-27-2011, 01:51 AM
Same here but skipped to the wrapping it up and "to me, from santa" biz. Pretty cool little unit - I can't wait to get it installed. Uh, wait a a minute. It's 40 degrees and raining for the next 4 months. I guess I can wait a while...

Picked up a new transom remote for my Clarion setup too for the waterproof remote that filled with water.

kaneboats
01-02-2012, 10:37 PM
Wow! Santa happened to leave one of these under my tree. Have to put it to good use.

bergermaister
01-04-2012, 01:04 PM
Anyone got theirs installed (or already had one)? Let's see where you have it.

I'm debating were I want to put this. I was thinking under the ignition side below where I moved my stereo remote to but i think the floatie for my keys will hang down over it if it lives there.

KG's Supra24
01-04-2012, 01:59 PM
Put mine exactly where you are talking about ...

http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/i401/kwgarner24/2011-05-17_19-48-48_77.jpg

kaneboats
01-04-2012, 02:15 PM
Looks pretty good right there. Might have to copy that too. Might be nice to be able to reach it when I'm not driving -- no one else will be allowed to touch it!

dusty2221
01-04-2012, 02:36 PM
I dont have a clear shot for you to see, this is the best I have. I mounted mine on the opposite side and put the HSE on the left side.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v235/dusty2221/2011-06-08203654.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v235/dusty2221/Boat/IMG_3447.jpg

bergermaister
01-04-2012, 03:05 PM
Cool - thanks guys. My HU is in the passenger glove box. Where your HUs sit I have a row of switches. I think under my ignition and remote may work after all as the key kind of hangs off more to the left than I originally thought and that other little black switch is gone now. As long as the EQ is not too wide...

http://i326.photobucket.com/albums/k414/grberglund/MoombaMobiusV/IMG_1959.jpg

New Guy
01-06-2012, 09:40 AM
Berg whats with the voltmeter down there?

bergermaister
01-06-2012, 10:14 AM
My boat apparently did not come "factory" with a depth gauge. The previous owner had mounted one down there. The first time out in the boat years ago I decided that was about the stupidest place for a gauge that I would probably look at the most while out on the water. Gauge I would look at the least? Voltmeter I'm guessing so I swapped places and put the depth right up in the dash where it's easy to see.

New Guy
01-06-2012, 10:49 AM
Gotcha that makes sense.