PDA

View Full Version : No stereo??



Jet
05-15-2012, 06:24 PM
Decided to ditch the stereo and only use the XM and Aux input. Power question? Do I just hook up the blue power wires from the amps and 4200 to a dash mounted stereo switch?? And that would be a 2-position switch correct? Any BRIGHT ideas would be great! Thanks Jet

Have the amps mounted and the charging system is up and running.14388143891439114390

Jet
05-15-2012, 06:29 PM
Oops, wrong pic's.143921439314394

mmandley
05-15-2012, 09:08 PM
You can use a switch.

You need it to step down the power though, the blue line is a 5V line i think. < this is where im not positive > id need to measure that voltage but i thought it was a 5V line.

If its 12V then yea you can use a 2 way switch.

EarmarkMarine
05-15-2012, 09:32 PM
The remote turn on lead would normally be 12 volts. So if all units including sources, processors and amplifiers have constant power and ground first then they can receive the switched on/off 12 volts trigger. Contemporary amplifiers have a momentary input muting function so you do not get a turn on/off thump. But if you do have noise, which is unlikely, there is a programable module that will rectify this.

David
Earmark Marine

Jet
05-16-2012, 12:50 PM
Good idea?? Any thoughts??

dusty2221
05-16-2012, 01:12 PM
He is telling you that you can use a 2 position switch, and the amp will mute the initial "pop" when you turn it on....possibly. At least that's How I read it.

Run a turn on wire from the battery to one pole on the switch, and from the other pole run it back to your amp turn on. Link all the amps together off of the same remote turn on wire. Whala, switch activated remote turn on.

mmandley
05-16-2012, 01:41 PM
He is telling you that you can use a 2 position switch, and the amp will mute the initial "pop" when you turn it on....possibly. At least that's How I read it.

Run a turn on wire from the battery to one pole on the switch, and from the other pole run it back to your amp turn on. Link all the amps together off of the same remote turn on wire. Whala, switch activated remote turn on.

Exactly what he said. I like your idea for simplicity. It hasnt got to that point with me, but then if i removed my HU i would have a huge hole in my glove box lol. I can say i doubt ill buy another HU if mine ever goes out.

In high school i had my car broken into and they stole my HU. I couldnt aford one so i used my walkman for my HU for a couple months. I striped the Headphone wires, seperated the left and right + and - then ran it to the low imput of my amp by splicing it into an RCA cable and it worked pretty dam good.

After that i was always know as the Red Neck fix it guy. I can fix anything temperarly when needed. Just like i hot wired my running lights for my truck to the trailer by splicing the license plate wire. On the boat last weekend i had no power to a ballast pump switch and it wasnt a fuse problem. So i jumped power from another switch. Sometimes you gotta just make it work LOL

Jet
05-16-2012, 03:39 PM
I still have that lil hole in my glove box. lol. Yeah I just bought a new HU last year but was thinking I dont need it! Unless Dusty brings another part/club mix CD he made again. lmao. Thanks guys. Dont like doing anything without running by all of us.

EarmarkMarine
05-16-2012, 04:12 PM
Get the brochure for a really nice source unit, cut out the image and paste it up over the hole.

EarmarkMarine
05-16-2012, 04:15 PM
Oh, and have it laminated first at Thomas Reprographics so that it's waterproof.

dusty2221
05-16-2012, 04:20 PM
Heck, I have a "lamintator" (as Kira calls it) at home you can use Jet!

kaneboats
05-17-2012, 10:28 AM
In my living room I have one of those cardboard cutout bigscreen TV's like they use in displays. I think it looks great but the kids hate it.

philwsailz
05-17-2012, 10:41 AM
Get the brochure for a really nice source unit, cut out the image and paste it up over the hole.

Go find an 8-track player and 8-track tape. Mount the player and print out current artwork from a favorite artist and glue it on the 8-track. Tell friends you are rocking it old-school...

I built a manufacturer's show car about 20 years ago that had an old 6-volt tube radio in the dash. As a giggle, we installed an FM-to AM converter in the antenna input. We then used a small FM transmitter to hit the radio with the tunes.

Another time we decided to kluge together a CD walkman, connected to a cassette adaptor, which was inserted into an 8-track adaptor, allowing us to play CD tracks through a transmission-hump-mounted Lear 8-track player....

EarmarkMarine
05-17-2012, 11:21 AM
Yeah, once I retired from riding shotgun for the Wells Fargo stage coach line I became a stereo installer putting tube radios and chicken wire antennas in Model Ts.