PDA

View Full Version : screw length?



motosno963
05-29-2012, 05:07 PM
when i had my two amps put in my 04 outback the installer put them behind the front passanger seat(at work so ill grab pics when i get home to show)and the one is right on the corner so its not flush and it sticks out..i want to move one of my amps to the inside hull of the compartment. My question is whats a good length screw should i use to mount it(with my luck ill get the wrong length and go through the hull) ha..im running a rockford fosqate punch amp (non marine)

bergermaister
05-30-2012, 06:49 PM
Here's a couple solid installs you should be able to get ideas from. Most mount their amps to a rack/board of some kind. No screwing right into the hull.

http://www.moomba.com/msgboard/showthread.php?14790-Another-Stereo-Makeover&highlight=amp+rack

http://www.moomba.com/msgboard/showthread.php?13951-Got-Tunes-Round-2&highlight=amp+rack

rdlangston13
05-31-2012, 09:58 PM
i dont get how the mount the rack without screwing into the hull


what the hell is mike up too? didnt get redo the stereo and ballast this spring?? we want info!!!!

wolfeman131
05-31-2012, 10:03 PM
You can glue blocks to the hull, then screw the rack (wood covered w/ carpet, backlit lexan, cutting board, starboard, etc) to the blocks.

dusty2221
06-01-2012, 07:36 AM
I had to go the blocks glued to the hull route to mount the second Harpoon.

motosno963
06-01-2012, 04:10 PM
that sounds good..last thing i want to do is put screws in my hull haha

motosno963
06-01-2012, 04:44 PM
Here's a couple solid installs you should be able to get ideas from. Most mount their amps to a rack/board of some kind. No screwing right into the hull.

http://www.moomba.com/msgboard/showthread.php?14790-Another-Stereo-Makeover&highlight=amp+rack

http://www.moomba.com/msgboard/showthread.php?13951-Got-Tunes-Round-2&highlight=amp+rack
i just looked at the first link you sent..wow.. im not that smart with those set ups..might have to redo mine and make it look cleaner