PDA

View Full Version : EQ Install Advice



Canuckle Head
06-19-2012, 02:23 AM
Anyone have some pictures of how they installed their EQ or ZLD under their dash? I've been searching the forums and found one post but the link it refers to has been removed.

Thanks in advance!

Wade

jmvotto
06-19-2012, 06:14 AM
Wade, on the obv I put two l brackets on the steering column bolts then added some lock washers an nutsthen screwed some plastics board a tad bigger than the eq to the brackets. Then just mounted the eq to the board flush to the board. Its only place I could find to mount on the obv, not enough dash board anywhere else.

Check out my profile pics.

Joe

muehlcj
06-19-2012, 06:47 AM
Wade - I ran into a similar problem this spring. I followed JM's instructions as indicated above. Worked great. All you need is a couple L brackets from Lowes, nuts, washers, and a "board" cut so size. I thought I would have some starboard left over from my amp rack but unf. I didn't. I went to Target and picked up one of these and cut to size: http://www.target.com/p/superboard-pure-poly-cutting-board-midnight-granite-14x17/-/A-85899
14964

Dubwake21
06-19-2012, 07:26 AM
I mounted mine below the throttle by the gravity III switches. With a trim piece from a stereo place, it looks pretty clean and its at your finger tips for volume control.

loudsubz
06-19-2012, 09:12 AM
I just ended up doing my krypt eq this past weekend.

Did what was suggested above. Cut a piece of 1/2 inch plywood just slightly wider than eq, bolted it below the oem switch panel on right side with 2 L brackets, mounted eq to board and also attached a piece of wire to the board near the rear to stop any movement up and down on big waves etc, it's solid.

jmvotto
06-19-2012, 09:30 AM
here is the pic
http://www.moomba.com/msgboard/attachment.php?attachmentid=11379&d=1306343089

brain_rinse
06-19-2012, 10:25 AM
http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm219/dan_powers/08%20Moomba%20Mobius%20LSV/92d9b82c.jpg

mmandley
06-19-2012, 10:51 AM
http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm219/dan_powers/08%20Moomba%20Mobius%20LSV/92d9b82c.jpg

Tried to PM you, says your full mang =(

loudsubz
06-19-2012, 10:53 AM
that looks good! on our 2010 i dont think i have the room under the switches to do that though

mmandley
06-19-2012, 10:55 AM
that looks good! on our 2010 i dont think i have the room under the switches to do that though

You have to buy a blank and move the switches up. i have a blank i was trying to contact Brain for any tips before i break out the dremmel. I will take some pics and do a write up if i can get this done LOL.

brain_rinse
06-19-2012, 11:08 AM
Yeah you have to start with a blank panel. Here is the PM I just sent Mike:

I removed the old panel by popping out each of the switches one by one, hooking them back up behind the panel so I didn't forget how they were wired. Once the panel was free I used it to make a paper template. I just moved the row of switches higher up but kept them "level" with the stock alignment. The EQ hole I just measured and kinda guessed, erroring on the side of "too small" then filed it just big enough to fit.

brain_rinse
06-19-2012, 11:12 AM
You have to buy a blank and move the switches up. i have a blank i was trying to contact Brain for any tips before i break out the dremmel. I will take some pics and do a write up if i can get this done LOL.
The dremel worked pretty well and didn't chip the finish at all. It just sort of melts through the plastic though so it's an interesting process. I might try one of those vibrating trim saws if I were to do it again.

If you have your panel off you could think about wrapping it (and the key side, maybe even the gauges) in some custom vinyl, maybe some of the 3D carbon fiber. I would have done this if I couldn't source a blank panel and had to reuse the factory one or fabricate my own.

Canuckle Head
06-19-2012, 12:11 PM
here is the pic
http://www.moomba.com/msgboard/attachment.php?attachmentid=11379&d=1306343089

Thanks JM, that's exactly what I was looking for!

Need to climb back under there to see how the L-brackets would attach. How long are these L-brackets anyway?

Cheers!

Wade

bbuhtz
06-19-2012, 01:05 PM
Here is what I used.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/95169951-1618-42d7-9e29-abd5767df4f7_300.jpg
Here is how I attached it. Both sides.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/krypteq6.jpg
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/krypteq5.jpg
And here it is finished. Easy, cheap and no fabricating.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/krypteq3.jpg

bbuhtz
06-19-2012, 01:08 PM
Another pic of it.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/Krypteq2.jpg

Jet
06-19-2012, 01:47 PM
Same problem diff boat. Our older supras dont have a FLAT under dash. Its wavy and drops down at the wheel. Anybody have any ideas or pictures for that??

dusty2221
06-19-2012, 01:49 PM
How about you provide us with pics so we can make suggestions?

:)

wolfeman131
06-19-2012, 02:49 PM
why don't you head down to his house, see it for yourself and help him get his boat on the water?

Canuckle Head
06-19-2012, 04:00 PM
here is what i used.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/95169951-1618-42d7-9e29-abd5767df4f7_300.jpg
here is how i attached it. Both sides.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/krypteq6.jpg
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/krypteq5.jpg
and here it is finished. Easy, cheap and no fabricating.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/extreme360/krypteq3.jpg

like button!

bergermaister
06-19-2012, 05:33 PM
Ditto that ^^

As long as it stands up to the bumps that is exactly where/how mine is going too! Just got my cables from Monoprice the other day so now it's go time!

bbuhtz
06-19-2012, 05:58 PM
My eq is solid as can be.

Jet
06-19-2012, 06:30 PM
Yeah Dusty!

jmvotto
06-19-2012, 08:52 PM
Here is the one on the xlv

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh254/jmvotto/5d28c3e2.jpg

Cigars n scotch
06-19-2012, 11:02 PM
Here's mine.

14996

jmvotto
06-20-2012, 09:00 AM
Thanks JM, that's exactly what I was looking for!

Need to climb back under there to see how the L-brackets would attach. How long are these L-brackets anyway?

Cheers!

Wade


i grab a couple lengths to get it flush with the dash after the plastic baords was installed. I think 3 and 4 inch ones

ian ashton
06-21-2012, 12:19 PM
I'm curious; how often do you adjust the EQ? Why isn't this a set it and forget kind of thing? I'd mount it in the glove box.

bbuhtz
06-21-2012, 12:33 PM
I'm curious; how often do you adjust the EQ? Why isn't this a set it and forget kind of thing? I'd mount it in the glove box.

I use mine to separate towers and speakers quite often. Also the mic wouldn't do any good in the glove box with as much crap that people put in there as they do on my boat. Seems to be the place for EVERYTHING!

Jet
06-21-2012, 02:42 PM
In my case, the eq is the head unit now. No stereo. Aux and mic have to be near. And you know how some songs sound great and then the next one sounds like crap and its the volume to now.

Cigars n scotch
06-21-2012, 03:15 PM
I'm curious; how often do you adjust the EQ? Why isn't this a set it and forget kind of thing? I'd mount it in the glove box.

I use my exile ZLD constantly to lower volume after someone falls and also switch between zones (tower and incabins). It is the greatest thing since sliced bread! I don't have a sub but you can control that as well.

jmvotto
06-21-2012, 03:58 PM
independent tower and cabin control plus different various of music will require a slight adjusment rock vs rap

Jet
06-23-2012, 05:12 PM
Ok DUSTY!! Heres the situation (no, not him). i dont want it vertical mounted, so any ideas on making a flush mount look ok??

15054

dusty2221
06-25-2012, 09:58 AM
This is rough, and not to size but it should give you something to think about. It looks like you have room to make a small "dash extension" to create a face place, thru-mount look into the dash. Match the shape of the dash with a piece of cardboard, then transfer it to whatever material you want the extension to be. Get a thin cotton batting and cover the entire thing in the closest match vinyl you can find. Jo-Anns fabric is an excellent place to find Marine grade vinyl. Again, my paint pic is rough, but from the looks of your pic I think you could make this work pretty easily.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v235/dusty2221/4200.jpg

Jet
06-25-2012, 11:07 AM
That is what I have been thinking. Thanks Dusty. I saw a picture on Supra-boats FB page like 2-3 weeks ago. He built a drop down dash but it was pretty big. I like your idea of just making a small one off to the left side that way laura can reach if Im driving and to busy. Thanks guys.

#2 question. What are yall doing about these eq's getting wet?? You know we get stuck out in the rain a few times a year? I know they are probably a lil splash proof but what are yall doing about this??

Jet
06-25-2012, 11:08 AM
you just had to use the 420 in your pic didnt ya? Well at least you got the color right!! lol

saskyrider
06-25-2012, 11:23 AM
I just mounted mine this weekend and actually mounted it verticaly on the front edge of the panel by the throttle using the supplied L brackets. i was worried about cranking it with my knees all the time... i actually really like it in this spot.... and i really love the availability of the throttle... i upgraded my head unit to the kenwood KMR-700u and now it's collecting dust because i just plug my ipod into the aux in and use the ZLD as my throttle control as well...

geoff

Dubwake21
06-25-2012, 02:16 PM
I adjust mine a lot with each rider up and rider down. As stated, I have placed it by the throttle so its a one, two routine for me. 15088

saskyrider
06-25-2012, 03:09 PM
that's a nice install to... mine is mounted vertically on the grey strip just in front of where your's in.... the RCA pre outs face towards the hull... volume is at top... easy to get at and not in the way..

loudsubz
07-02-2012, 09:21 PM
Here is mine on our 2010 LSV

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b150/loudsubz/08a21057.jpg

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b150/loudsubz/2aac7af5.jpg

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b150/loudsubz/dea6826c.jpg

bergermaister
08-12-2012, 01:46 AM
Finally got around to my EQ install - hey, it's only been sitting on bench for about 9 months... Don't want to rush into these things.

I must be getting old because running 4 pairs of RCAs and a new remote-on lead down through my foot space behind the sub enclosure, through the basement, past the batteries and over to the amp rack and HU was a royal pain. Pain like me cramping up from twisting and contorting into these tight little cubbies to get everything where it needs to be and then barely being able to get back out. Done now and all is working with no buzz or hiss. Time for a water trial in the morning!

Question - where do you guys normally leave your HU volume set at?

http://i326.photobucket.com/albums/k414/grberglund/MoombaMobiusV/eq4.jpg

I got inspired so I also added my final LED strips up front but of course stretched one a little too much around a bend and snapped the sucker in half during the last 30 seconds of install. Urgh.

jmvotto
08-12-2012, 08:01 AM
I usually set my eq volume based on what we are doing, tower to boat ratio, then use the remote as the master volume.

If just cruising then, in boats full and towers at 1/4, reverse if we are riding and surfing.

Does that kicker bass knob say "11" on it. LOL. How does that work into the eq sub bass control?

wolfeman131
08-12-2012, 03:00 PM
Does that kicker bass knob say "11" on it. LOL.

It's one louder!

bergermaister
08-13-2012, 12:20 AM
You know it!

I'm finding with the EQ now that my driver and transom remotes basically have become a glorified on-off button. Hmmm.