PDA

View Full Version : Upgraded to Dual Battery system and need your help!



Canuckle Head
07-07-2012, 02:02 AM
Hoping someone can help me out. I just upgraded my boat to a dual battey system and everything works except my switches for my nav lights, blower, stereo etc. The boat will turn over and my perfect pass is working but none of the switches will work. I can also see that the distribution block to the amps is getting power as it illuminates and shows 12.6 volts.

The only thing I can think it would be is that I removed the wires from the original G1 ballast switch thinking that I did not need them any more as I was planning on re wiring this switch for my 4th reversible ballast pump. Is is possible that I screwed something up by doing this?

I am supposed to be launching the boat tomorrow so if anyone could help me out is would be greatly appreciated.

Super stressed!

Wade

jmvotto
07-07-2012, 07:17 AM
Wade. Yes sometimes those switches are jumped in series from switch to switch. Try putting it back together may have broken the daisy chain.

Good luck
Joe

MLA
07-07-2012, 09:24 AM
I agree with JM. Its very common to find the switches' B+ to daisy-chain from one to the other. Only other thing would be to just double check that a B+ cable feeding a helm fuse/breaker box didnt get left off the during the battery upgrade. A volt meter or 12V test light will come in handy in chasing down the root cause.

Canuckle Head
07-07-2012, 12:36 PM
Hi guys, good advice but unfortunately I don't remember how they go back on...... Anyone have a wiring diagram for this switch? Shazbot!

Canuckle Head
07-09-2012, 12:32 PM
In case anyone is wondering what the outcome was..... It turns out I had tripped the circuit breaker! Everything is working awesome and my stereo sounds incredible. Long live Exile!

jmvotto
07-09-2012, 04:52 PM
the one behind the spotter seat in the cubby?

Canuckle Head
07-10-2012, 01:22 PM
Yup. I was having a total panick attack that I screwed something up but it all worked out. I keep meaning to take pictures to show how I managed to get everything to fit an that tiny compartment. I think I spent more time planning the installation than actually installing!

jmvotto
07-10-2012, 05:00 PM
yep, that cubby is no bigger than a carryon suit case:o

Brianinpdx
07-10-2012, 10:31 PM
Wade - I've regrettably been so busy in the office and in the field I haven't been on the forums much. I this a non issue now? How did your install work out?

-Brian
Exile Audio