PDA

View Full Version : Kenwood Radio



wbarksda
04-13-2009, 03:41 PM
As of now I have the Kenwood KDC-225mr but am looking to upgrade the easiest way. I need somewhere to plug in my ipod. Anybody have an idea on what model I would need to upgrade to so it will still fit in the same spot and still work with my remote?

Razzman
04-13-2009, 03:53 PM
If your reffering to the Aewire remotes then good luck! I'm going through that now myself as i replaced my Kenwood with a Pioneer ipod/USB head unit and they don't work with the Pioneer. It looks like i'll be buying two Pioneer remotes! :(

wbarksda
04-13-2009, 03:58 PM
Yea, that is why I was trying to find a Kenwood that had the plugins. Did you search for one?

ABC
04-13-2009, 04:07 PM
I have a cable similar to this one.. works great. My head unit is a little different, but I think if it have a CD changer port, this should work.

http://david-levy-company-inc.amazonwebstore.com/B000IZBODY/M/B000IZBODY.htm

actually, mine is more like this one.. has lots of connections.. still charges the ipod too
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/PERIPHERAL-PXA05-KENWOOD-CD-CHANGER-PORT-TO-STEREO-RCA_W0QQitemZ130299325644QQcmdZViewItem

wbarksda
04-13-2009, 04:12 PM
Thanks for the info. I do not have a CD changer, so do you know if the CD player I have has that plugin?

ABC
04-13-2009, 04:34 PM
yeah.. it should plug into the round port on the back.. looks like this

http://i250.photobucket.com/albums/gg276/cab13367/Boat%20Pics/IMG_0767.jpg

wbarksda
04-13-2009, 04:48 PM
ABC, thanks man, you just saved me some serious cash, if it works of course.

ian ashton
04-13-2009, 08:23 PM
As of now I have the Kenwood KDC-225mr but am looking to upgrade the easiest way. I need somewhere to plug in my ipod. Anybody have an idea on what model I would need to upgrade to so it will still fit in the same spot and still work with my remote?

I have the same radio with the Kenwood IP500 (I think is the model number) iPod adapter and it works like a charm.

jester
04-13-2009, 11:47 PM
Ian,

I am looking to get the IP500 for my boat. My one question is does the remote on the drivers side work? I am looking for play /stop and next track on my Ipod.

jmvotto
04-13-2009, 11:50 PM
wbarksda,

I have the same pheripheral device as ABC with mutiple connections (ipod, rca, and 1/8 mini plugs) got it at best by for about 35 bucks.

yes your 225mr has the cd changer port as listed above, here is a link to the manual. enter your e-mail and it pops up on screen in a pdf.

http://www.retrevo.com/search/v2/jsp/mytrevo/myTrevo.jsp?page=man&e=1#myManualsDownloadForm

ian ashton
04-14-2009, 12:18 PM
Ian,

I am looking to get the IP500 for my boat. My one question is does the remote on the drivers side work? I am looking for play /stop and next track on my Ipod.

Yes, the Kenwood remote works - it lets you change track, play, pause, and change playlist.

Razzman
04-14-2009, 01:08 PM
Yes, the Kenwood remote works - it lets you change track, play, pause, and change playlist.

IF he has the Kenwood remote that is. IF he has the Aewire remotes Moomba uses then NO you can't do any of that except volume adjustments.

wbarksda
04-14-2009, 01:16 PM
will the ipod still function?

Razzman
04-14-2009, 01:23 PM
The ipod will function with the cable as shown previously, I had that same setup originally. The Aewire remotes will only adjust volume in that setup config. The reason being for one is that when using the generic cable setup for ipod your actually bypassing a any built in functions the Kenwood might have for ipod. That's the second biggest reason i dumped the Kenwood/Aewire combo for the Pioneer w/ Pioneer remotes, full funcionality.

Sled491
04-14-2009, 04:26 PM
I have a similar set up to JV, but I find that general functions on my IPOD are limited and it will not stick to the overall library, just playlists. Other than that my remote does everything my head unit does.