Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    1,788

    Default Distribution Block ?'s

    Can someone point me in the right direction please? In redoing the stereo, I am adding a distribution block to split the power to all 4 amps. I am using 8g from the block to the amps for power, and believe I need to use 0 from the battery to the block. My question, all the fused blocks I have found offer two Og inputs to four 8g outputs. Is is necessary to use BOTH inputs, or will it function just fine using only 1?

    Also, is 0g the recommended size to split to four 8g, or would 4g work jsut as well as the main power supply to the block?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    De Pere WI
    Posts
    3,993

    Default

    personally, use 0 gauge, use only one, and make it a somewhat short lead. I used 0 and they are around 2.5ft total length from battery to dist. block, running 3 med-sized rockford fosgate power series amps. you don't need to use both sides.
    '06 Supra Launch 20SSV-gone but never forgotten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lake Wylie NC Area
    Posts
    631

    Default

    Most common blocks with two inputs are a BUSS style input, so filling both inputs is not always needed.

    I like to use non-fused, also called ground distribution blocks, and then use a marine-rated manual-reset circuit breaker for the positive trunk line from the battery to the block.

    The wire gauge will depend on the load it will carry and the length of the run.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tigard, Oregon
    Posts
    3,016

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dusty2221 View Post
    Can someone point me in the right direction please? In redoing the stereo, I am adding a distribution block to split the power to all 4 amps. I am using 8g from the block to the amps for power, and believe I need to use 0 from the battery to the block. My question, all the fused blocks I have found offer two Og inputs to four 8g outputs. Is is necessary to use BOTH inputs, or will it function just fine using only 1?

    Also, is 0g the recommended size to split to four 8g, or would 4g work jsut as well as the main power supply to the block?

    Thanks
    Dusty,

    Please see the table in the link below. To answer to your question as to what gauge cable you should use for your input when using (4) 8 AWG outputs - you want the size of the input (cross-sectional area) to be equal to or greater than the cross sectional area of the (4) output cables added together. So according to the table, (1) 2 AWG cable has a cross sectional area that exceeds the cross sectional area of (4) 8 AWG cables so (1) 2 AWG cable is fine for your input assuming you have a relatively short run from the battery to the distribution block.

    Hope that helps.

    Al

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_wire_gauge
    Al

    2006 Mobius LSV

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    1,788

    Default

    Thanks guys. 2 is what I had wanted to use.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lake Wylie NC Area
    Posts
    631

    Default

    The downside to the above rule-of-thumb from wiki, is that's its assuming that the 8ga is of adequate size for each amp to run from the block to the amp.

    Depending on each amp's potential current draw, and the distance from the block to each amp, 8ga may or may not be sufficient. You may need 4ga, so this would change the whole equation.

    The wire ga chart I use has 8ga carrying up to 60A for a length of up to 5ft. In most installs, the amp will not be more then 5 ft from the distribution block . More then 60A or further then 5ft, you should step up to 4ga.

    In the grand scheme of things, wire is inexpensive, so you would only be talking a few bucks more to step up to 4ga for all 4 amps. $.02

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tigard, Oregon
    Posts
    3,016

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MLA View Post
    The downside to the above rule-of-thumb from wiki, is that's its assuming that the 8ga is of adequate size for each amp to run from the block to the amp.

    Depending on each amp's potential current draw, and the distance from the block to each amp, 8ga may or may not be sufficient. You may need 4ga, so this would change the whole equation.

    The wire ga chart I use has 8ga carrying up to 60A for a length of up to 5ft. In most installs, the amp will not be more then 5 ft from the distribution block . More then 60A or further then 5ft, you should step up to 4ga.

    In the grand scheme of things, wire is inexpensive, so you would only be talking a few bucks more to step up to 4ga for all 4 amps. $.02
    Agreed, and I was going on the assumption that Dusty had correctly sized the 8 AWG cables to the amp. I personally used 4 AWG.
    Al

    2006 Mobius LSV

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lake Wylie NC Area
    Posts
    631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cab13367 View Post
    Agreed, and I was going on the assumption that Dusty had correctly sized the 8 AWG cables to the amp. I personally used 4 AWG.
    I understood that and didn't mean for it to sound like I was calling you out and just wanted to add to that for others fallowing along.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,840

    Default

    I would use no less than 4 gauge to the amps. I've also used a short run 4 in from batt / two 4 out to amps many times with no adverse effects. In fact may current system running a Harpoon & ZX700.5 was wired that way and has plenty of power (until i gutted the entire system three weeks ago). What looks good on paper doesn't always reflect real world results.

    Quality wire and cable is also important and as said KnuKonceptz is the best online source i've found. Been ordering from them for four years now and it's quality stuff.
    2007 Mobius LSV

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    De Pere WI
    Posts
    3,993

    Default

    4awg here and 0 to the ground block. I figure that in a marine environment where the engine may not be running for extended periods of listening, give the amp the ability to draw all it can.

    now in my truck, my old-school soundstream 405 is running on 8gauge and does just fine
    '06 Supra Launch 20SSV-gone but never forgotten

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •