Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 41
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Keuka Lake, NY
    Posts
    5,835

    Default

    Got the block, why are there two power inputs? I'm confused
    A Day at the Lake...Priceless
    A Day in Powder...Endless


    Joe V
    2012 Möbius XLV~ Loaded & Exiled
    2007 Outback V ~ sold

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lake Wylie NC Area
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Dont sweat it, they're BUSS'd. You only need a single B+ in to make all 4 fuse slots hot.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Keuka Lake, NY
    Posts
    5,835

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MLA View Post
    Dont sweat it, they're BUSS'd. You only need a single B+ in to make all 4 fuse slots hot.

    Thanks, I did notice that, but maybe it's a preference for top or bottom positioning. Not sure why you would use both B+ at the same time.
    A Day at the Lake...Priceless
    A Day in Powder...Endless


    Joe V
    2012 Möbius XLV~ Loaded & Exiled
    2007 Outback V ~ sold

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    4,160

    Default tsunami power and grnd distro block with meter

    Quick question on the block. I'm running a exile harpoon, 800.4 and 600.1. What size fuse is needed for each amp in the block?


    Sent from my iPhone newtys droid killer using Tapatalk
    David

    2008 Mobius LSV, Gravity III , Wake Plate, Z5, Exile SX65c's, Exile XM9s, Exile XI12D, Exile Harpoon, Exile SM600.1 , Exile Xi800.4.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lake Wylie NC Area
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdlangston13 View Post
    Quick question on the block. I'm running a exile harpoon, 800.4 and 600.1. What size fuse is needed for each amp in the block?


    Sent from my iPhone newtys droid killer using Tapatalk
    The sum of the fuses on the ends of each amp are an indication of the approximate max current draw that the amp will ever pull. No need to ever exceed this with your fuse. Most amps will average between 50% and 75% of there max. Depending on the amp's efficiency and the load placed on each chnl, you could calculate a little closer. But, its still a estimate based on the type of music played and the volume level. I would shoot for 75% of the amp's max potential draw, but not exceeding the capacity of the cable between the block and amp.

    The fuse for the trunk line feeding the block needs to be able to carry the load of all the amps, yet not exceed the capacity of the cable. We always want the fuse to be the week link.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    4,160

    Default tsunami power and grnd distro block with meter

    Ok so what's the max for 4 gauge?


    Sent from my iPhone newtys droid killer using Tapatalk
    David

    2008 Mobius LSV, Gravity III , Wake Plate, Z5, Exile SX65c's, Exile XM9s, Exile XI12D, Exile Harpoon, Exile SM600.1 , Exile Xi800.4.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Keuka Lake, NY
    Posts
    5,835

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdlangston13 View Post
    Ok so what's the max for 4 gauge?


    Sent from my iPhone newtys droid killer using Tapatalk

    David, the exile site has the specs and recommended wire gauge and fuses.

    I believe mine are 125 each at the block.
    A Day at the Lake...Priceless
    A Day in Powder...Endless


    Joe V
    2012 Möbius XLV~ Loaded & Exiled
    2007 Outback V ~ sold

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Lake Wylie NC Area
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rdlangston13 View Post
    Ok so what's the max for 4 gauge?


    Sent from my iPhone newtys droid killer using Tapatalk
    The max current capacity for 4 ga would depend on the total length of the B+ and GND running to it. Another way to look at it. There is no advantage to having a fuse thats rated higher then the amp's max potential load (the sum of its internal fusing). So if your cable is of sufficient gauge to carry that amps potential load, then your fuse size should be within a safe range. The key is, if a short were to occur, we want the fuse or breaker to trip before the cable melts.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Land O Lakes, Florida
    Posts
    5,866

    Default

    no simple answer for David ?

    I ordered the distribution block and wireing from Brian, he sent 5 fuses for it, 2 were larger, 3 were smaller (Think 125)
    I've installed the smaller ones for all 3 amps
    Last edited by moombadaze; 01-24-2013 at 08:09 AM.
    Hey, Its Moomba time

    13 Mobius LSV
    08 Mobius LSV-sold
    03 Mobius LSV-sold
    life is about finding the balance between being a responsible adult and staying young at heart

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Keuka Lake, NY
    Posts
    5,835

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moombadaze View Post
    no simple answer for David ?

    I ordered the distribution block and wireing from Brian, he sent 5 fuses for it, 2 were larger, 3 were smaller (Think 125)
    I've installed the smaller ones for all 3 amps
    here it is the kit info
    MAIN POWER & GROUND HOOKUP KIT INCLUDES:Ring Terminals 3 RED + 2 Black ZERO gauge
    -6 ft 1/0 gauge power cable
    -6 ft 1/0 gauge ground cable
    PWR + GRND 4 Position Fused Distribution Block MiniANL with Digital Voltage Readout
    (3) 150A Mini ANL fuses
    (3) 100A Mini ANL fuses


    This site has the better specs on the exile amps
    http://www.exilecaraudio.com/
    A Day at the Lake...Priceless
    A Day in Powder...Endless


    Joe V
    2012 Möbius XLV~ Loaded & Exiled
    2007 Outback V ~ sold

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •